I was not born for this.

I was not born for this.

I was not born to live a life fearing how others view me. I was born to stand proud of who I am and what I do. I was born to be thoroughly who I am, stand up for what I believe in. Listen to those who fascinate me, form my own opinions, fight for what I think deserves my attention and not lie awake at night worrying over if I have done wrong in the eyes of others.

I was not born to look down when walking past people in the street. I was born to have the confidence to look people in the eye, to raise my head, be present in every moment of my life. I am not here to be ashamed of who I am and what I look like. I was not born to look perfect. To have the ideal figure, to have the best make up, to dress nicely, to brush my hair. I was born to wear running leggings and put my hair up, and to then still recognize the beauty in that.

I was not born to watch every morsel of food that enters my mouth. I was not born to sacrifice the 5/10/20kg I was meant to have on me just so I could seem powerful, respectable and capable. I was born to enjoy good food with good people and eat bad food with bad people, I was born to enjoy each moment, be spontaneous, be free from inner torment.

I was not born to believe relationships end in pain. To avoid forming any bond worth forming in fear of someone being hurt. I was born to experience heartache. I was not born to be reliant on others for my own sanity. I was born to be equally in love with my own company and those I care for. Because I truly believe, without being content with myself, life cannot be fulfilling.

I was born to see the world, run the outdoors, meet new people and make mistakes. I was born to love, hate, smile, laugh, cry. I was born to have days where I feel untouchable and days where I don’t want to get out of bed. I was born to be truly, 100% me.

Leave a Reply

